Sunday, December 4, 2016

The 4th Anilao Underwater Photo Shootout Announces Top Awards, Boosts the Philippines as a Premiere Dive Destination

By Arabelle Jimenez

Dennis Corpuz impressed the judges with his portfolio, and is declared the Philippine Department of Tourism (PDOT) Photographer of the Year.

International underwater photographers from at least 17 countries rolled in high waves at the recently concluded 4th Anilao Underwater Photo Shootout. 128 enthusiastic divers, a throng of distinguished panel of judges, and the who's who in underwater photography graced the occasion.  

Anilao, known for its rich marine life, is world renowned for its underwater macro photography.  This tiny spot detected in the planet's radar is a haven for international underwater photographers.  The 4th Anilao Underwater Photo Shootout dubbed as "The Grand Prix of  Underwater Photo Competitions," was a five-day event of diving, adventure, and camaraderie.

The DOT Dive Market Development Group led by Wen Sorioso (2nd from right), with cinematographer Jess Lapid, Jr.

Organized by the Philippine Department of Tourism through its Dive - Market Development Group, this unique event marks DOT's efforts in making the Philippines visible in the tourism map, while preserving its advocacy in taking care of marine life. 

The distinguished judges together with, from left Competition Director and Acacia Resort owner Oliver Ang, judges Gutsy Tuason (Philippines), Takaji Ochi (Japan), Stephen Wong (Hongkong), DOT MDG Director Verna Esmeraldo Buensuceso, judges Takako Uno (Japan), Jason Isley (Australia), and Greg Lecoeur (France), during the Awards Night held at the Acacia Resort and Dive Center on November 27, 2016.

As in any competition, there were well-deserving winners who took home a trophy. Choosing from 600 photo entries, the judges had a hard time picking out the best of the best, and it took them many hours deliberating on the winning shots. The photos were judged objectively, using a number system.

List of Winners: 

To view winning photos, please click here.



1st Place - Enrique Fajardo (dive guide Dennis Corpus)
2nd Place - Ram Yoro (dive guide Penn Delos Santos)
3rd Place - Seungchul Yang (dive guide Rodel Abu)

Marine Behavior
1st Place - Richard Gutierrez (dive guide Duds)
2nd Place - Wayne Jones
3rd Place - Dennis Corpuz

1st Place - Peri Paleracio (dive guide William Mendoza)
2nd Place - Garri Immanuel Tadlip
3rd Place - Ram Yoro (dive guide Penn Delos Santos)

Fish Portrait
1st Place - Enrique Fajardo (dive guide Penn Delos Santos)
2nd Place - Andre Montenegro (dive guide Penn Delos Santos)
3rd Place - Richard Gutierrez (dive guide Duds)

Creative Winner - Yang Ming Cheng (dive guide Patrick Eschweiler)

1st Place - Dennis Corpuz
2nd Place - Enrique Fajardo (dive guide Dennis Corpuz)
3rd Place - Wayne Jones (dive guide Obet)


1st Place - Olivier Martinez (dive guide Philip)
2nd Place - Marylin Batt
3rd Place - Lee Deuk Gu

Marine Behavior
1st Place - Ju Lynn Khor (dive guide Ben)
2nd Place - Ronilo Corpuz (dive guide Robin)
3rd Place - Trixie Tacardon (dive guide Marco)

1st Place - Yoshio Osawa (dive guide Ronald Dalawampo)
2nd Place - Tziz Saltik (dive guide Webster Mendoza)
3rd Place - Lim Jun Hyung (dive guide Aris Batanes)

Fish Portrait
1st Place - Ronald Dalawampo
2nd Place - Penn Delos Santos (dive guide Ram Yoro)
3rd Place - Ingrid Lee (dive guide Alfie Santos)

Compact Creative Winner - Kenji Cheow (dive guide Joseph Crow)

1st Place - Yoshio Osawa (dive guide Ronald Dalawampo)
2nd Place - Ronald Dalawampo
3rd Place - Jaso Apostol

Event Partners: Acacia Resort and Dive Center, Philippine Airlines

Major Sponsors: Inon, Nauticam, Squires Bingham Sports

Sponsors: Municipality of Mabini, Azure Dive and Yoga Resort, Buceo Anilao Beach and Dive Resort, RGBlue, i-Divesite, Bohol Beach Club, The Bellevue Resort Bohol, Scotty's Action Sports Network, VuQo Vodka, Atmosphere Resorts and Spa, Balicasag Island and Dive Resort, Belmont Hotels and Resorts, Fourth Element, Fun N Sun Dive and Travel, Fun-In Underwater Photographic Equipment, Villa Magdalena, Camp Netanya Resort and Spa, Divepro Asia, Diver's Point Co., IST Sports Corp., La Cheverie Resorts and Spa, The Three P Holiday and Dive Resort, XDeep, 

Participating Anilao Resorts: 
Aiyanar Beach and Dive Resort, Crystal Blue, Pier Uno

Follow on Facebook here.

Special thanks to Acacia Resort and Dive Center, the official resort of the DOT officials, VIP judges, sponsors and international media.